Find us On Facebook Twitter YouTube Linked In Flickr
Faculty and Staff

National Awards and Honors

Meet More Of Our Outstanding Faculty and Staff:

Clark School Honors

Outstanding Service Award for Staff

Faculty Service Award

E. Robert Kent Outstanding Teaching Award for Junior Faculty

Poole & Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty

Junior Faculty Outstanding Research Award

Faculty Outstanding Research Award

University Honors

Invention of the Year Award

Distinguished University Professor

Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

Other Awards

Searching for a Faculty or Staff Member?

There are several ways to access information on Clark School faculty and staff:

♦ View the directory of department chairs and institute directors.

Visit departmental web sites.

Use the  University of Maryland faculty and staff directory.



Our faculty are not only well-known among their campus colleagues and students for the quality of their research and teaching, they also have received national recognition from the following organizations:

Dr. C.D. Mote, Jr.National Academy of Engineering Founders Award Winners

C.D. Mote, Jr., ME (NAE President & former UMD President, top left)
John W. Morris, Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE)


Dr. Baecher

Dr. Mosleh

Dr. Oran

Induction into the National Academy of Engineering

UMD Tenured or Tenure-Track Faculty Who Are NAE Members:

John Anderson, AE
Gregory Baecher, CEE (upper left)
Jacques Gansler, CEE/Public Policy
Ali Mosleh, ME (middle left)
C.D. Mote, Jr., ME
Elaine Oran, AE (lower left)
Ben Shneiderman, CS/ISR
Katepalli Sreenivasan, ME

UMD Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Who Are NAE Members:

Arthur E. Bergles, ME
Howard Baum, Fire Protection Engineering (FPE)
James Dally, ME
Robert Deutsch, Fischell Department of Bioengineering (BioE)
George Dieter, ME
Millard S. Firebaugh, ME
Robert Fischell, ME
Gerald Galloway, CEE
Eugenia Kalnay, CEE and Meteorology
Jeong Kim, ECE
Lyle Schwartz, MSE

Retired or Deceased NAE Members

Howard Frank, electrical and computer
   engineering (ECE), retired
George Irwin (1907-1998), ME, deceased

National Science Foundation Faculty Young Investigator/Early Career Development (CAREER) Awards

View the full list of Clark School recipients of these awards here.


Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

View the full list of Clark School recipients of these awards here.


Clark School Professional Association Fellows

View the full list of Clark School professional association fellows here.


Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

Jim Wallace, Mechanical Engineering (ME), 2005 Professor of the Year for the State of Maryland